Christmas Vacation

While out on Christmas Eve, my throat felt a bit scratchy.  I felt fine, but it was enough to let me know Christmas Day was not going to be so good.  And I’ve held onto this head cold/sore throat since then.  I haven’t slept much at all (except for last night) and I’ve been between the couch and bed and nothing else.  B, C and I did have a nice Christmas morning opening gifts.  Despite being sick, it was nice to watch C open his new toys and treats…he was exhausted by mid-morning!  I’ve been getting a bit antsy as I’ve done absolutely nothing productive, but I guess it’s good for me to really just relax.

Yesterday we had our last ultrasound appointment at the RE’s office.  Everything looks good.  My cervix was long and closed (45 was the number she said…not sure what that means).  And our two little babies are growing.  Baby B caught up to Baby A and they are both measuring 21mm at 8 weeks, 6 days.  Their heartbeats were measured at 165 and 175.  This time we could actually see the mid-brain, and the arm and leg buds.  It was really cool.  Baby B was standing on its head, so B told me that one is mine..haha!  We called my parents and shared the new information with them and sent them a couple pics we got at the appointment.  We still haven’t shared the news with anyone else.  Next weekend we plan to tell my aunt, grandma and godmother when we see them in person.  We probably won’t tell B’s family until we make it to the 12 week mark.  We don’t want it out out until then and unfortunately I don’t think they will be able to keep it quiet.  I am willing to tell them sooner, but B rather wait.  It’s starting to feel real.  B and I spent some time yesterday discussing how we would change the guest room around.  I had started clearing some stuff out last week, but B got the half-chewed (thank you puppy C) area rug and big wooden chair out of there.  I think we agree on a layout for the room, we just need to get some more furniture.  My mom already said she would purchase the cribs.  We want to get a queen size daybed, but they don’t seem to exist.  Anyone have any leads on where we could get one?  Or how we could create a frame for a queen mattress?

C has been particularly cute and cuddly these days.  He snuggles up right to the back of my legs.  I wonder if he can sense something is different…or if he actually understands what I’m saying b/c I’ve told him about 100x the babies are in my belly!  I’m feeling quite happy about all of this…but don’t worry, I haven’t completely let down my guard.

One thought on “Christmas Vacation

  1. I’m very sure that some animals can sense changes in our chemistry! They may not know exactly what is going on, but they know there is a change. I think my cats were oblivious though. hehe

    So glad to hear your ultrasound went well.

Leave a Reply

