17 Mature Eggs

First of all, thank you so much to all the ladies that have given me positive thoughts and support in response to my last few posts.  It feels so good to read those comments and feel like I’m being thought of by others as we go through this.

Retrieval went perfectly.  I LOVED the new RN that was there to get me set-up and get the IV started.  She was super nice and both B and I connected with her.  She also has the same last name of my favorite aunt!  I couldn’t help but think that has to mean something :) Afterwards, I was able to wake up fairly quickly.  I was awake after only being back in the room for 10 minutes, but it probably took another 10 for me to open my eyes.  Apparently I asked B about how the Splooge Room went again, but this time it was in front of the nurse!  He said she pretended she didn’t hear..ha!  I sat up, had some crackers and ginger ale, and went to the bathroom.  Then we were ready to go.  We got the report that they retrieved 17 eggs (woohoo!) and would be getting the fertilization report tomorrow.  Right now I’m feeling pretty good…still a bit woozy, but good.  I have very mild cramping and not so much cramping…I can just feel it down there (if that makes any sense at all).  I haven’t needed to take any pain meds at this point.  I have acupuncture this afternoon, but otherwise I’m just hanging out on the couch with C.  B is sleeping b/c he worked last night.

I’m feeling pretty positive about a 5 day transfer.  I need 4 high quality embryos in order to do a day 5.  Last time 2 of the 4 were high quality, so I’m optimistic about this time around. Everyone was very pleased with the number 17.  In the end, it only takes one to implant, but having a high number like that does give you a certain sense of comfort.  I’m excited to get the call tomorrow with the fert report!

3 thoughts on “17 Mature Eggs

Leave a Reply

