Not what I was expecting

UPDATE:  B was able to switch his work schedule, so at least we don’t have to worry about that.  Still waiting for the confirmation call though…

So after 5 days of stimming, I have 4 mature follicles (20 and 18 mm on the right with a 14mm right behind them and then 18.5 and 17.5 on the left).  The IVF team still needs to look at my follicle count and blood work, but the nurse said it looks like I will trigger TONIGHT and then have the retrieval on FRIDAY!  Um…what?  How can that be?  Well apparently my body responded quickly to the meds.  My nurse didn’t seem concerned that there are only 4, but I am.  That is the minimum # required to do the retrieval, but it’s not a lot.  They say about 75% of the eggs usually fertilize so that leaves me with 3.  Depending on how good the quality is I will transfer 1-2 on Day 3, but only 1 if we make it to Day 5.  But I’m worried we won’t make it to Day 5 b/c there are so few eggs!  I know quality is more important that quantity, but I would have felt more comfortable with a couple more to work with here.

In addition to my worry about the # of eggs, I’m completely caught off guard by the fact that we will most likely trigger tonight.  After I left the office, I suddenly remembered that B is working a double!  He is working overnight on Thursday and then 7-3pm on Friday.  My appointment will most likely be 7:30/8am.  He is in a meeting right now so I haven’t even been able to talk to him about it.  He NEEDS to be there!  I don’t know if he will be able to take a few hours off b/c he is in training….AHHHHH!!!!  I texted him quickly before his meeting and he just wrote back, “it will be okay”.  I’m not sure what that means.  I’m trying not to freak out, but I can’t really help it.  IVF sucks!  I hate how it F’s with your mind!

5 thoughts on “Not what I was expecting

  1. I agree with senor B. It will be okay… deeeeeeeeep breaths!

    Quality is definitely much more important than quality. I had 1 – 1! – fertilize, it made it to transfer and technically knocked me up.

    I’m not even worried about you. NOT EVEN WORRIED. Your eggs will be rockstars. And B will work something out. In the event of work vs. hormonal woman, hormonal woman wins. It’s a mathematical fact. It’s science.

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words!!!! B worked things out at work. He ended up having to tell his 2 supervisors, but he is now free and clear all day Friday (and no Thursday overnight). We are both stressed mostly with anticipation, but I am trying to be positive.

  2. Ugh! How stressful! But you are right, quality is completely more important than quantity. All 4 of those could fertilize and you could make it to day 5 with 3 to freeze. But even if they don’t all make it, one is all it takes! I’m glad B was able to switch his schedule. Wishing you luck!

  3. It really is crazy how quickly things can change during this process. I guess we have to realize there’s nothing we can do, and just go with it. As stressed out as I tend to be, I knew going into this that I couldn’t plan when I’d need off from work, etc, so I haven’t worried about it. But when things are thrown at you, it’s hard not to freak out a bit, so I definitely understand.
    Good luck if you trigger tonight! It sounds like the doctors and nurses think you’re ready, so I guess it’s time to trust them and hope for the best! :)

Leave a Reply

