Stims have begun!

I meant to write yesterday afternoon when the nurse called me with my instructions, but life got in the way.  So she said everything looks good and Friday (today) would be my first day of the stimulation medication.  My recipe is 5 units of Lupron and 225 units of Gonal-F mixed with 1 vial of Menopur powder.  The needle is slightly bigger, but it went in just fine.    B and I also started our Doxycycline meds to prevent bacterial infections.  Fun stuff!  Tomorrow night we will be at a  wedding so I will need to mix and inject in the bathroom at the reception.  Both of us will also need to take our Doxy pills with dinner since you need to eat it with a meal.  More fun stuff!  I’m going to bring a cooler pack to keep the meds cool in my purse.  I had to do it the other night when we went out to dinner with friends and it wasn’t bad at all…so now I feel more comfortable going into tomorrow night.  Monday I will go in for blood work to see how my body is responding to the meds and make adjustments as needed.

And my standard response when people ask why I’m not drinking will be…”my stomach has been upset the past few days and I don’t want to push it”.  I don’t think I’ll have many questions from others since most of the people we will be hanging out with are friends of friends rather than my group of friends.  But I will be sure to retell any ridiculous comments I may receive with all of you after the weekend :)

10 thoughts on “Stims have begun!

  1. OOOOH! I started stims today too! I’m now on 5 units of Lupron, 225 ml of Gonal-F pen, and 10 unit of LH. Why did you start doxycycline already? I’m not supposed to start that until the night before retrieval.
    It’s interesting to me that everyone’s protocols vary a bit. Whatever the differences, I just hope they work!

      • So I just looked up Menopur and this is the info I got…
        MENOPUR® is a highly purified preparation of naturally derived gonadotropins, called hMG. MENOPUR® contains equal amounts (75 IUs) of 2 kinds of hormonal activity: follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH), which helps stimulate egg production; and luteinizing hormone (LH), which helps the eggs mature and release (ovulate). MENOPUR® helps stimulate eggs to mature in women whose ovaries are basically healthy but are unable to develop eggs.
        Maybe your medication is just the luteinizing hormone and not the mixture with FSH?

    • Everything went smoothly at the wedding. No one commented on my not drinking (even though I stuck with water). I snuck up to the bathroom and luckily no one came in while I was set up in the stall with my meds and needles ready to mix! The most annoying part of the night was carrying around a huge purse so that I could keep the cooler bag in it, so nothing to complain about at all! :) I have a feeling I will not be as lucky at the country concert this weekend in which I will be taking a bus to tailgate with about 30-40 other people…stay tuned :)

  2. Glad to hear the start of stims has gone well. May next weekend’s continue that way!
    I never was much of an alcohol drinker, so I just stopped drinking it all together (except for the very very rare occasion) one new year and told people it was a NYE resolution. At first everyone kept asking if I was pregnant, to which I would snidely reply that I wasn’t. After a while people just got used to me not drinking and would be shocked when I would take a drink. LOL. If only others would mind their own business.
    Continued good luck with your meds!

Leave a Reply

