Back to Blogland

Well I have been off the grid for a couple of weeks.  Life was busy and then I took some time away from the electronic world while we were on vacation at the beach.  If felt good to  relax and de-stress, but it also felt a bit uneasy without connecting to my new friends for so long.  I definitely feel a sense of security and less alone when I am able to read how everyone is doing.  It also feels better to get my thoughts about how things are going with me out there as well.  So I just want to say it feels good to be back :)

I am full swing into my IVF cycle.  I am on night 5 of Lupron injections (10 units) and continue to take my prenatal vitamin and 400mg of Folic Acid.  Saturday night was my last night of BCPs, so now I just wait for AF and call in my Day 1.  Then I will go in for my baseline ultrasound and b/w.  So far I have not had any side effects.  The injections go pretty well, but I am starting to feel a bit sore right after the injection.  This may be due to injecting at the same site each time, but tonight I switched it up and I was slightly sore for a few minutes, but now I feel fine.  I thought I would feel a bit more anxious about all of this, but I’ve just gotten into a routine and it’s not a big deal each night.  I am looking forward to the baseline ultrasound and b/w…I’m curious to see how my body is responding to the Lupron.

If all looks good this week, I will start stims this weekend.  I will be at a wedding on Saturday night, so that will be challenging to get away to mix everything and then keep it cold afterwards.  I guess I’ll have to bring a small cooler bag to put in my purse?  Does anyone have any suggestions for how to pull this off?  The wedding/reception are at the same place and the shuttle leaves from our hotel at 4pm.  I’ll need to inject between 6pm and 8pm.  I guess we could drive from the hotel and go back after dinner?  Who knows…we have a week to figure out the details.  The IVF nurse told me that 1st time IVFers usually stim for longer, so I’ll probably be stimming for close to 10 days.

I’m trying to be optimistic this cycle, but have really just been going with the flow while keeping extreme emotions at bay.  I guess I’m trying not to have any expectations…it’s just a wait and see thing.  Although that may change once I start stims and have hormones pumping through my body.  Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “Back to Blogland

  1. Welcome back, lady! So I’m just 2 days ahead of you. My last BC was Friday, and my ultrasound is scheduled for Tuesday. I haven’t started AF yet, though. I don’t even know if it’s like a full flow kind of thing or if Lupron affects it, do you? I’m assuming if it still hasn’t even started, that I might have it for the U/S. Hmmm…

    I’m feeling pretty much the same as you. Trying to be optimistic, but I really don’t know how the hell I feel. And I’m not the most optimistic person to begin with. I’d like to think there could be a pregnancy at the end of this, but I’m just too afraid to even get excited about anything.

    Deep breaths… ;)

    • I’m not sure if Lupron affects AF. It was my understanding that you have the ultrasound and b/w once AF arrives…since I’m not scheduling mine until AF is here. I was thinking it would be a pretty yucky ultrasound experience! But I guess they are used to it?

      Glad we are going through it together! Positive thoughts for both of us :)

Leave a Reply

