Losing weight is getting harder to do

So week 1 of the exercise/diet plan was not very successful.  I went from 135.2 pounds to 134.8 pounds.  I didn’t even lose 1/2 a pound!  I guess the good news is that I didn’t gain any more weight…that is definitely a positive!  I am beginning to think that the weight gain isn’t just about me slacking a bit on exercise and not cutting out sweets.  I definitely could use some improvement in these areas, but I also think the weight gain may also be due to my taking BCP’s again.  I’m happy the BCP’s have cleared up my ache, but since being back on it, I feel a bit bloated and my boobs have grown.  None of my bras fit anymore, which makes them very uncomfortable and shirts very unflattering.  I’ve just been wearing sports bras to get the coverage.  I guess I just need to accept these side effects and try my best to control what I can…diet and exercise!

I was not great about cutting sweets out, but I did increase my fruits/veggies intake.  I walked 2x per day with C on most days, but 1 day we went to the dog park so I didn’t do any walks and 1 day I only did the usual afternoon walk.  I did some strength training 2x during the week instead of 3x as planned.  There is definitely room for improvement, but I don’t feel like a total failure either.  Today starts a new week, so I am going to try and focus on my original goals again.  So far so good today.  A granola bar and fruit smoothie for breakfast and already got in the first walk.  Hope I’ll have happier news to report next Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Losing weight is getting harder to do

  1. Oh BCP definitely screw things up. Damn that useless BCP.

    How much weight are you trying to lose? It doesn’t sound like you need to lose that much weight to begin with, maybe that’s part of why it’s a little slow going?

    • I set my goal at losing 12 pounds, but I would be happy with 8-10. I’m at the point where my clothes are tight, so they are uncomfortable and unflattering. I just want to get back to the point where I feel comfortable and confident. It’s also about keeping a bit more healthier lifestyle (i.e. stay active and generally eating better and smaller portions. I agree with you, since it’s just a little bit of weight to lose, it will probably be harder to do.

Leave a Reply

