Summer Diet/Exercise Plan

I don’t know if any of you have looked at my 101 things to do in 1001 days, but one of the items on there is to lose 7 pounds (going from 130 to 123).  Not only have I not worked toward this goal, I have gone in the opposite direction!  Between being home much more often having the summer off and our little getaway to Vegas, I gained 5 pounds!!  I’m at the point where I can’t find anything to wear because my clothes are so tight, unflattering and uncomfortable.  So now I am 135 and want to get down to 123 (I know this may seem like an arbitrary number, but it is the number when I feel my best – it’s not so much the number it’s how my clothes feel and I feel about myself when I look in the mirror.)  So now I have 12 pounds to lose – and I would like to give myself a deadline.  I would like to lose 12 pounds in 6 weeks (2 pounds per week, which is the usual healthy guideline).  I think I can do it!

I have never been a fad dieter and have never been into any crazy fitness routines.  Whenever I get to the point where I am several pounds over my goal weight, I cut back on portion sizes and sweets/chocolate/processed snack foods and then up my exercise routine a little bit.  It has been successful in the past, but I need to really stick to my guns or it doesn’t work.

Some of the things I plan to do in order to achieve my goal include: 1) Drink more water daily (I don’t drink coffee, soda, or anything other than the occasional glass of OJ – I just need to increase the amount of water I drink); 2) Walk C 2x per day instead of 1 (B usually does the morning walk and I do the afternoon walk, but now I will join them for the morning walk); 3) Take C for more trail hikes for the afternoon walk (there are more inclines as we live near a mountain); 4) Cut out sweets completely (I have to go cold turkey…there is no such thing as 6 Peanut M&M’s for me – it turns into 1/2 the bag!); 5) Stay away from heavy calorie foods when we eat out (When I cook at home, I make generally healthy things, but usually splurge when eating out); 6) Do sets of crunches, squats, and push-ups 3x per week; and 7) Eat more fruits and veggies and cut down on portion sizes of other foods.

I think that is a good place to start, but let me know if you have any other ideas!  I’m always looking for suggestions for easy/healthy recipes and added tricks for losing weight/getting in better shape.  Week 6 will be 1 week after I start the Lupron and will most likely be starting the stimulation meds.  It will be nice to have something else to focus on these next few weeks.  And I have extra motivation to be in the best shape possible before IVF.  Wish me luck!  My plan goes into effect right now!  I will be doing a little bit of work from home for the next couple hours and then I will be taking C on a trail hike up the mountain!  I already made dinner for tonight (since B works 2nd shift, I make dinner in the mornings so he can bring dinner to work with him) – fish tacos, marinated with pineapple and couscous.  I think I will add another veggie as a side too in order to fill myself up some more so I won’t be so disappointed in not having dessert! :)

Leave a Reply

