IVF Protocol

I just got my protocol packet in the mail.  There is an ART Information sheet which has a welcome section from the nursing team, information about necessary tests that must be completed before IVF (which I have already completed), information about ultrasounds and monitoring, information about completing blood work and information about how the IVF team reviews the results of blood tests and ultrasound.  Which reminds me, at the IVF overview we were told that even though we have an assigned RE, the entire team of nurses and doctors meets daily to review each patient’s file.  I really like that they do this.  It seems like a great check and balance team approach to ensure nothing is missed.  (If I could attend discussions on my case I would!  Too bad they don’t include patients in these discussions.)  There was also a letter with my medication consult phone appointment (August 2nd) and a list of materials I am to read/video to watch before this appointment.  These materials include medication information, my specific protocol, information about the entire process, and a video about mixing the medications.

The last thing included in the packet was copies of a calendar for the months of July, August, and September.  The following dates are scheduled:

July 8th – Start active BCPs; August 8th – Start Lupron (10 units each PM); August 11th – last active BCP; August 13th-15th – Call nursing with period to schedule baseline ultrasound and labs; July 17th/18th – Stimulation start; August 19th-25 – Monitoring; August 27th – Egg Retrieval; Then the 29th has a “t” then 30/31 says “tsfr”.  I’m guessing those refer to transfer days??? Although I don’t know why it is written on both the 30th and 31st since there is no such thing as a 4 day transfer.  I will have to ask the nurse about that when I talk to her.  The only thing about this schedule is that the Egg Retrieval date is my 1st day back to work.  It’s not the worst thing in the world, but it’s not the greatest thing either.  I know that date may change, so I’m not going to worry about it at all right now.  When the time gets closer I can let my boss know…she has been very understanding and told me “Family First” when I first told her what we were going through.  I know she will have my back through this no matter what.

It feels good to have all the information about the process right now.  I know dates aren’t set in stone, but it is definitely nice to have all the information.  The meds definitely make me a little nervous.  The list includes Lupron 14 day kit, Gonal-f, Menopur, Doxycycline, Ovidrel, Prometrium, and Vivelle o.1 mg estrogen patches.  It’s just a lot to keep track of…I’m pretty organized so once I get everything I’m sure I will be fine.  Now I just need to speak to the IVF insurance coordinator to find out information about my coverage.  I will call her on Monday.

Leave a Reply

