First Day of Summer

Today is the longest day of the year and the first official day of summer according to the calendar.  It is also my personal first day of summer.  I am completely relieved that this school year is over…it has definitely been stressful.  I am very thankful not to have to deal with crazy entitled parents, co-workers that get away with doing less work (while I and others end up doing more), and worrying about what my emotional state will be like day to day at work…until the end of August anyway.  There were SO many positive things that happened at work as well, but it always seems that no matter how many positives there are in any given situation the negatives overpower them.  So that is my long-winded way of saying I completely welcome my summer vacation!

I am disappointed that I will not be beginning IVF in 2 weeks as was originally planned, but I think it’s time to let that go.  I will now be focusing on how to enjoy my summer.  The next couple of days I will be catching up on cleaning, laundry, and organizing myself.  Saturday we have friends coming over to grill and then go to the fireworks (yes they are 1 1/2 weeks early in our town).  Then we will be packing for our upcoming trip on Monday.  We will be going to Vegas for 4 days.  We both need to get away from life for a while and just enjoy time with each other.  We will also be visiting friends we haven’t seen for over 2 years.  I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited for a vacation :)

Leave a Reply

